Live a Thousand Lives Before You Die

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies,” said Jojen.  “A man who never reads lives only one.” – George R.R. Martin, A Dance with Dragons

If you’ve had a conversation with me in the past few years, you probably know that I love the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin and HBO’s television adaptation A Game of Thrones.  If you haven’t read it or seen it yet, I highly suggest you do so this world Martin has created can be available to you too.

Most educators would agree that reading is where it’s at- it makes us more knowledgeable, increases our vocabularies, and opens doors to Narnia, Diagon Alley, and Westeros.  Just like reading opens up doors to new worlds, so does learning a new language.  With fluency in a second language, you are able to navigate other cultures and other ways of thinking.  You can do business in cities all over the world.  You can connect with people who would otherwise be cut off from you.  You can live in more than one reality, more than one world.

I think Jojen Reed would agree.

Maybe this post just motivates me to teach my students well so that the world is truly available to them, but it should also motivate students who are given the opportunity to learn a new language to give it their very best.

One of my principals, Jennifer Hogan (@Jennifer_Hogan), invited me to write a motivational blog post as part of a Linky Party.  I wasn’t sure what to write about at first until I read Martin’s quote from the fifth book of the series, A Dance with Dragons.  To read more motivational posts from Mrs. Hogan’s Linky Party, click the blue box below. 

About madamedcash

French Teacher
This entry was posted in Books, Teaching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Live a Thousand Lives Before You Die

  1. Wow – I love this quote! Through reading we can offer our students the experiences they can only get by “living” through a character’s life. Great motivation to make sure reading is a focus in our classrooms.

  2. waynetuttle says:

    I love the thought of how languages open up more of the world for us. I wish I would have seen that when I was in high school taking foreign language. Never to late to change! I guess I better get on Italian as my wife is eager to visit Italy! Jen Hogan, your principal, you are a blessed lady.

  3. I love this post! It’s such a great reminder that we must be open to make connections all over the globe – whether it is through reading, learning a new language, or connecting via social media. Thanks for being a part of the linky party!
    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

