What’s it like to see the Eiffel Tower for real? Student Post #6

Pictures of Monuments in Textbooks or Online Don’t Live Up to the Real Thing:

To be able to see the Arc de Triomphe and the Eiffel Tower which I had studied so much at school was so breathtaking and amazing it tears to my eyes, not going to lie I may have shed a tear or two. Also seeing the places gave me solid proof that I was actually in France. It is really hard to process that you’re in a different country until you are literally standing in front of the thing you’ve googled and looked at pictures of for as long as you could remember thinking “I’m going to go there one day,” and then you’re actually there. It just blows my mind. It almost doesn’t register that these monuments of France are actually tangible and then when it’s right there in front of you, it’s like a dream. I actually had to go touch the walls of the Arc de Triomphe and walk underneath it to believe that it was real. Same with the Eiffel Tower; I had to touch the iron and metal that made up the structure and go up to the top to really believe it. The other thing made the monuments so incredible was that they were so huge; I had never really given thought to their size. The Eiffel tower being three-hundred feet didn’t mean anything to me while I read it online or heard about it but, actually seeing it and what that meant for the size of the tower was something so insane I cannot even put it into words. -Jayde

I asked Jayde to reflect on the experience of seeing for real all of the things and places she’s studied in a textbook.  We spend so much time thinking about what it WOULD be like, so I wanted to hear from her what it was ACTUALLY like.  Turns out that it’s still kind of surreal!  But I know what she means when she says, “I had to touch the iron and metal that made up the structure and go up to the top to really believe it.”  And so will you when you go one day!

About madamedcash

French Teacher
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

