Who Doesn’t Daydream

Who Doesn’t Daydream of Traveling to France?
To be honest after sitting in classrooms filled with pictures of famous French monuments like the Eiffel Tower, the Arc de Triomphe, and Mont St Michel for two years I fell in love with France. The more French I learned the more I grew to love the language, the culture, the architecture, and don’t forget the fashion. A whole other reason by itself to go on the trip is simply: The Eiffel Tower. I have an Eiffel Tower ornament in my car, pictures of it around my room, my bedspread has Eiffel Towers on it, I have a mirror in the shape of the Eiffel Tower, and I even wrote a paper on it. The background on my computer? Yep, you guessed it, The Eiffel Tower. So it’s really an understatement to say that I was excited that I was getting the chance to see the Eiffel Tower in person. As soon as I saw the signs hanging around school advertising the trip I jumped on the opportunity even though I knew I had to wait a whole year before I would be going. I couldn’t wait to try using my French with actual fluent French speaking people. Sure I heard the rumors about how French people were rude to Americans, but I didn’t care, it was freaking France! I also knew that by the time we left for the trip I would have finished my third year of French, so I would know enough to get by at least. It was too big of an opportunity to pass up. -Jayde

The next few posts are going to be quotes from one of my student travelers, Jayde.  Jayde is a rising senior in the IB program and is also a member of the French Club and National French Honor Society.  She’ll be in IB French 4 next year.  I’m honored to finally get to teach her!  She agreed to write a reflection of the trip which I could use for different purposes in exchange for some CAS hours for IB.  I think it was a great exchange.

In this post, I hope you can feel Jayde’s excitement about the opportunity of going to France.  I wanted to her to share why she wanted to go in the first place, and like many francophiles, it all starts with the Eiffel Tower!!!

About madamedcash

French Teacher
Quote | This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

