Using Dropbox to Access Student Audio Files in the Cloud

I’m still struggling to find a way to use my iPad in a constructive way.  Not all of my students have them yet (to be honest, I still don’t know what I’ll do when they do.)  However, I did finally find a super practical use for my iPad- for listening to student recordings anywhere I go.

We are super fortunate to have a Language Lab at our school (we have the program Virtuoso), but one of the drawbacks of the lab is that the teacher has to return their during off periods in order to actually listen to anything the students recorded and saved.  I decided to figure out a way to get the files OUT of the lab without using a flashdrive or someother “middleman” device.  I use Dropbox for tons of other things, so I thought I’d try it for audio files.

I had the students save their recordings to my file in the lab, and then uploaded each file to my Dropbox account, and VOILA!  Now the student audio files (mp3) are filed neatly in my Dropbox account.  Now I can share a link to the folder on our class’s Edmodo page so the students can always access their recordings.  The best part of it is that I can grade audio files while doing my morning hallway duty!  Here’s the link to the first audio recording of the year from my French IV students: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/8b5k5xcjqo678iu/Q0UzUGNwqO

If you don’t have a Dropbox account, you need to get one.  It’s a filing cabinet in the sky (cloud, whatever) which you can access from anywhere.

About madamedcash

French Teacher
This entry was posted in Teacher Tech and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

